English (Google Translate)

Find Out about the Political Structure of the US Government

The structure of the US Government was set up within the Constitution. The structure was created to form a lasting democratic governmental system.

The US Government can be divided into Three Branches; the Executive, the Judicial and the Legislative. Each branch is controlled by the other two in a variety of ways. They are structured so to balance each other out, so no one branch will have too much power and dominate the federal government.




The Executive Branch is headed by a chief executive (President) elected every four years. The President is granted sweeping powers including: veto power over Congress which can be overridden by a two-thirds vote in each house; commander in chief of the armies; power to make treaties with the advice and consent of two-thirds of the Senate; power to appoint judges, diplomats and other officers with the consent of the Senate; power to recommend legislation and responsibility for execution of the laws.

The President is required to report each year to the legislative branch on the state of the nation. The legislative branch has the power to remove the President from office. The House of Representatives can impeach the President for treason, bribery or other high crimes and misdemeanors with actual removal from office occurring by a two-thirds vote of the Senate.





The Judicial Branch consists of a Supreme Court headed by a chief justice. The court has the implied power to review laws that conflict with the Constitution.




The Legislative Branch consist of two houses. The upper house (Senate) to be composed of elected officials for six year terms each state has two senators; the lower house (House of Representatives) is elected every two years by popular vote, the number of Representatives each State has depends on population of the state.




A copy of the constitution: